‘Tis [Not] the Season…

So, Christmas is just around the corner…oh, wait, it’s only the beginning of November? Oh that’s right–we won’t even celebrate Thanksgiving for another 3 weeks! Hmm… Well then, I’d like to know why there is already Christmas music blasting on local radio stations the day after Halloween (seriously, I had to change my presets). And why are people already putting up Christmas lights (maybe they leave them up year round?)?!

I don’t understand this new trend with Christmas festivities beginning earlier and earlier every year. Not trying to sound like the Grinch, but am I the only one who thinks all of this early Christmas cheer is a bit overzealous and severely premature?

When I was growing up, I always looked forward to Christmas (who doesn’t?) but it is only in recent memory that I’ve noticed how long Christmas seems. The only conclusion I can draw is that it’s a way to amp up consumerism. The more reminders we get that Christmas is coming up, the more excited we are for “Black Friday,” and “sales,” and the more excited we are, the more money we spend. Smart tactic, but I’m not falling for it! I’ll do my Christmas shopping in mid-late December like I always do, thank you very much. And I’ll wait until after Thanksgiving to put up my Christmas decorations and enjoy a select few Christmas songs…

Its still one of my favorite holidays and I look forward I spending time with my loved ones as much as the next person, but can’t we celebrate closer to December 25th? You don’t see me going around throwing confetti and saying it’s 2014, so stop acting like it’s Christmas in November! Just sayin’…

1 thought on “‘Tis [Not] the Season…

Leave a comment