Bride[smaid]zilla….

bridesmaid 2

Most people are familiar with the term “bridezilla;” for those of you who aren’t, it’s simply a term that describes a bride planning a wedding who basically loses her mind due to the stress of organizing said wedding. But I think it’s possible for bridesmaids to have their own version of this. I believe this because I think I’m currently experiencing it! One of my best friends is getting married in a couple of weeks and it has been a nightmare for me–and I’m just a bridesmaid. Granted, I’ve never been in a wedding before (as an adult) so maybe my expectations are the problem, but wow, weddings suck! I’ve decided to compile a list of why I am going through what I call “bridesmaidzilla syndrome:”

1) Expense: weddings can get crazy expensive apparently. For a three hour party (ceremony and reception), I will have spent roughly $1000 of my hard-earned (and not really disposable) income. For a party. Yes, I’m aware that it’s more than just a party, it’s a ceremony, and a right of passage, blah, blah, blah…but after footing the bill for a dress I’ll wear once, a hairdo that will be flat by the end of the day, gifts for the happy couple, etc., it’s hard to justify the cost. There has to be a limit. This isn’t Kate Middleton and Prince William we’re talking about after all…

2) Stress: for those readers who have been in, or had their own wedding, I’m sure you know it’s not without a lot of stress. It makes sense–it’s a lot to juggle and coordinate, but just from my perspective, it’s been more stress than it’s worth. My dress was ordered incorrectly so I have to wait for the right one to come in, get fitted, and have it altered; the kicker is: it’s supposed to arrive less than one week before the wedding. Really? A bridal shop’s job is to order dresses, charging exorbitant prices of course, and for what? I could have ordered my dress online and had it here and altered in plenty of time. I admit, I might be a little bitter.

3) Time: bridal showers, bachelorette weekends, rehearsal dinners, plus the wedding day itself. Who has time for all of that? I’m taking 15 credit hours this semester, working on getting an internship, working a minimum of 25 hours a week, doing homework, and somehow trying to find time to have a little bit of a social life [so I don't completely lose my mind]. I did raise this concern to my friend who simply replied with “everyone works full-time and they’re coming to X event.” Thanks for understanding.

4) Disclosure: here I am ranting about how much I hate being a bridesmaid on a blog. Can I bring these concerns to the bride, my friend? Absolutely not! My “job” as her bridesmaid is to help her from getting more stressed out and that means keeping my complaints (mostly) to myself. I could make a killing exclusively counseling bridesmaids. Just sayin’.

With all of that being said, I should add that it’s not that I’m not happy for my friend and her fiancé (I am), I just don’t understand why a person would spend $30,000 for one day when they could just have a small ceremony with close friends and family. My only consolation is that in a matter of days, my living nightmare will be over. Hopefully that means that my stress level will plummet and my bank account will be back on the rise. Clearly I’m not “bridesmaid material.” I am taking a lesson away from this experience: if/when I get married, I’m eloping…

One thought on “Bride[smaid]zilla….

Leave a Reply

